Bastia (French Island)

Bastia (French Island)

Bastia (French Island)

This is one of the most beautiful cities in Corsica. Italian city by its origins, it kept the choir and the Citadel.

Between the old neighborhood of Terra Vecchia, founded in 1380, and the Terra Nova started a century later, sits the Genoese domination. Yet sometimes Bastia Neapolitan accents with its cracked houses, wrought iron balconies and facades where blithely floating multicolored linen garlands.

You can visit Bastia as a tourist: the Saint-Nicolas on which you can stroll, before sitting down at a café terrace, the Romieu Garden by which you could reache the Citadel, the Ethnographic Museum and the Museum of the Sea, churches and chapels generous décor. Bastia has several religious sights, including an Assumption engraved silver due to a Sienese artist of the seventeenth century and the Black Christ of the Holy Cross Church, found floating on the waters between four wonderful lights.

It is celebrated on May 3, the feast of the intervention of the Holy Cross, and the statue is carried at the head of a procession through the streets of the city.

But the beauty of Bastia, mysterious town for the one who is not resident there, not in the marbles and golds of its churches. It is in these houses with closed shutters but with half-opened blinds. We must walk and get lost in the narrow streets to discover.

Tourism Officewww.bastia-tourisme.com

Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati

Bastia

Bastia

Bastia

C’est l’une des plus belles villes de Corse. Cité italienne par ses origines, elle en a gardé le choeur et la Citadelle.
Entre le vieux quartier de Terra Vecchia, fondé en 1380, et celui de Terra Nova, commencé un siècle plus tard, s’assied la domination génoise. pourtant, Bastia a parfois des accents napolitains avec ses maisons lézardées, ses balcons de fer forgé et ses façades où flottent allègrement des guirlandes de linge multicolores.

On peut visiter Bastia en touriste : la place Saint-Nicolas sur laquelle on flânera avant de s’asseoir à la terrasse d’un café, le jardin Romieu par lequel on accède à la Citadelle, le Musée ethnographique et le musée de la Mer, les églises et chapelles au décor généreux. Bastia compte plusieurs curiosités religieuses, dont une Assomption en argent ciselé due à un artiste siennois du XVII ème siècle, et le Christ Noir de l’église Sainte-Croix, trouvé flottant sur les eaux entre quatre lumières merveilleuses.
Il est fêté le 3 mai, fête de l’Intervention de la Sainte Croix, et la statue est portée en tête d’une procession à travers les rues de la ville.

Mais la beauté de Bastia, ville mystérieuse pour celui qui n’y réside pas, n’est pas dans les marbres et ors de ses églises. Elle se trouve dans ces maisons aux volets clos mais aux jalousies entrouvertes. Il faut se donner la peine de marcher et de s’égarer dans les ruelles pour la découvrir.

Office du tourismewww.bastia-tourisme.com

Partager Nos Messages

Partagez cet article par signets sociaux.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati